Piedmont Piano Company is pleased to present

Alan Pasqua, solo piano

"Alan Pasqua is one of the great pianists of our time. His wealth of experience is evident in his playing, writing, and teaching. An opportunity to see/hear Alan should not be missed."
– Bob Mintzer, Yellowjackets

Sunday, December 16, 2012 at 7:30pm
$20 - To reserve tickets with your credit card, please call (510) 547-8188

Alan will also be offering a jazz master class on 12/15. Please click here for details.

Alan Pasqua, Professor of Jazz Studies at USC Thornton School of Music, has played and recorded with Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette, Paul Motion, Dave Holland, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Joe Henderson, Stanley Clarke, Gary Burton, James Moody, Gary Peacock, Gary Bartz, Reggie Workman, The Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Jazz Orchestra, Sheila Jordan, and Joe Williams. Aside from his many critically acclaimed recordings as a leader, in 2008, Pasqua joined forces with Peter Erskine and Dave Carpenter, arranging, co-producing, and playing on the Grammy Award nominated trio album, "Standards." His latest release, "Twin Bill" (BFM JAZZ), features Pasqua recorded on two pianos, playing the music of Bill Evans and has achieved critical acclaim, including a 4 star Downbeat review.

While performing a concert at Carnegie Hall, Pasqua met the legendary drummer Tony Williams. Pasqua was asked to join The New Tony Williams Lifetime, along with guitarist Allan Holdsworth. After recording two "Lifetime" albums for Columbia Records, Pasqua relocated to Los Angeles. His Career in L.A. broadened as he started playing with more rock and pop artists. He has been a member of the bands of Bob Dylan and Santana. Some of his other pop album and touring credits include: Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Elton John, and Queen Latifah. In addition, he has worked with composers John Williams, Quincy Jones, Dave Grusin, Jerry Goldsmith, Henry Mancini, and on motion picture soundtracks. In addition, Alan composed the soundtrack for Disney's hit movie, "The Waterboy," and is a co-composer for the CBS Evening News Theme.